About the competitions

Why should you enter?

Taking part in the competition is a good way to get feedback on your work, and you will learn from seeing other members’ images and hearing the judge’s comments on them. The real purpose should be about entering and taking part; if your entries do well, then that’s a bonus. Since the inception of the Society’s competitions in 2014, there has been a significant increase in the standard of members entries. 

Guidelines for Competition Entry: 
  • A member may enter only one print/digital image for each round of the competition. 
  • The image must be entirely the work of the photographer 
  • Images may have been taken at any time but cannot be entered more than once. 
Competition Rounds and Themes

The competition will be held as four separate rounds throughout the year.  For 2022 there will be 3 OPEN rounds and 1 that is on the theme of MOTION. 


We usually have 3 leagues Primary, Intermediate and Advanced. 

  • The Primary league is intended for those members still learning the essential craft of photography including what they want to communicate and how to do it. 
  • The Intermediate league is for those members who have learnt the essential craft of photography and are comfortable with the skills needed to make images.  Members in the Intermediate league will be looking to learn more advanced techniques and developing their own style. 
  • The Advanced league is for those members who have mastered the field craft and are learning how to communicate. Members will have their own style and expression. 

 The aim of the leagues is to give the judge a basis on which to frame the critique. Hence the league that you compete in will determine this critique. (See the League Definitions)

For 2022, due to low member numbers in the Primary League, it has been decided that the Primary and Intermediate Leagues will be combined. This change will be reviewed when circumstances indicate that they should be separated once again.

An outside judge is invited to view the prints and provide some constructive comments before finally deciding on the first, second and third in each league. There may also be highly commended images, usually two, at the judge’s discretion. Typically, some images are ‘held-back’ – a shortlist of candidates for the placed images. Images that are held back or placed receive points.

After adding up the points, the winners of each league at the end of the year each receive a trophy engraved with their name, which they keep for a year. The winners and runners up receive a medal which they retain.

Full details of the rules.